Development stalled

Hey folks,
I don’t have the time to work on Chaox anymore, I hardly ever use my Netbook with Arch Linux since I got a proper notebook, which runs pentoo. Thanks to all the users that have trusted us :)

If you are a developer and want to continue the project, feel free to contact me, we might be able to work something out.

4 Responses to “Development stalled”

  1. It’s a shame to see chaox end. I only discovered it a few weeks back and have really enjoyed tinkering with it. (If I had more time, I would continue development as a hobby. Perhaps sometime down the road – I am trying to learn as much as I can about creating livecds right now.)

    Pretty much just writing to say thanks, and ask a few quick questions:

    1) Would you recommend Arch for live cd development (vs debian, gentoo, etc)?
    2) I’m guessing you used Archiso? Apart from adding the packages, was alot of work involved in getting it running right? (I do run an arch system, but haven’t experimented with creating a livecd yet.)

    If you have time, I would greatly appreciate an overview of how you created chaox. I would love to know how it was accomplished, problems you encountered, modifications that were made, patches, etc.

    Thank you.

    • First of all let me say I appreciate your interest in chaox. Always nice to hear from users that like it.

      1) I only have experience with Gentoo and Arch Linux, can’t say anything about Debian, as I hate their package manager with a passion ;)
      I think Gentoo and Arch Linux are equally easy to use, Gentoo has more/better official tools for creating a livecd than Arch has, but the community projects (archiso) are at least as good as the official Gentoo ones. So yeah, Arch is perfectly fine and if you like the distro I’d recommend basing your livecd of it.

      2) Sadly I didn’t use Archiso, but had my own sloppy setup. I installed all the packages I wanted into a chroot and compressed that and through it on a ISO image to put it simple. Just getting it to run was easy, but I spent a lot of time tweaking it to get better boot times etc.
      I’d definatly recommend going with Archiso, godane did a great job there and it’s much more reliable compared to my chroot setup.

      I don’t really have the time to create a proper guide on how I made it, but feel free to join #chaox on freenode and I’ll answer any specific questions you have. You might also want to dig through the repository on github: http://github.com/jensp/chaox-ng-livecd

  2. heey how to use chaox to hack wifi please send me pdf tutorial

  3. GordonRich Says:

    It’s a real shame this isn’t being worked on any more; I’ve been using it a lot over the past year or so and would greatly enjoy an updated version.

    Hope someone takes up the project in the near future.

Leave a Reply

